where community matters

Elected Officials

City Council meetings are held on the second Tuesday (Work Sessions) and fourth Tuesday (Regular Meeting) of each month (unless otherwise posted) at 6:30 p.m. in the Council Chambers of the Dunn Municipal Building located at 401 E Broad Street.

The City Council has seven members, all of whom are elected to four-year terms. Voters throughout the city choose the Mayor. Each of the other six Council Members is chosen only by the voters within the ward they represent. Dunn is divided into six wards and Council Members live in the ward they represent. The current term for the Mayor and Council Members ends in 2023.

For requests for Proclamations, please email the City Clerk no less than 3 weeks prior to the needed date.   

All Street Closures must be approved by Council and must be submitted to staff 6 weeks prior to the event through the Special Events Application Process.


William P. Elmore Jr.
PO Box 1065
Dunn, NC 28335

Council Members

J. Wesley Sills
Ward 1
PO Box 1065
Dunn, NC 28335
April Gaulden
Ward 2
PO Box 1065
Dunn, NC 28335
Raquel McNeil
Ward 3
PO Box 1065
Dunn, NC 28335
Billy Tart
Ward 4
PO Box 1065
Dunn, NC 28335
Alan Hargis
Ward 5
PO Box 1065
Dunn, NC 28335
Dr. David Bradham
Ward 6
PO Box 1065
PO Box 1065
Dunn, NC 28335
Tilghman Pope
City Attorney
401 E. Broad St
DUNN, NC, North Carolina 28334

More About Dunn

Dunn was originally called "Lucknow" and was renamed in 1873

The city of Dunn was incorporated on February 12, 1887, at which time it was a logging town and a turpentine distilling center. The name honors Bennett Dunn, who supervised the construction of the railway line between Wilson and Fayetteville.

Learn More