where community matters

Elected Officials

City Council meetings are held on the second Tuesday of each month at 7:00 p.m. in the Council Chambers of the Dunn Municipal Building located at 401 E Broad Street.

The City Council has seven members, all of whom are elected to four-year terms. Voters throughout the city choose the Mayor. Each of the other six Council Members is chosen only by the voters within the ward they represent. Dunn is divided into six wards and Council Members live in the ward they represent. The current term for the Mayor and Council Members ends in 2023.

For requests such as a Proclamations, Temporary Street Closures, etc. to be considered for the Council Meeting Agenda, please email the City Clerk no less than 3 weeks prior to the scheduled meeting.   

Mayor

 
William P. Elmore Jr.
PO Box 1065
Dunn, NC 28335
9198203661
welmore@dunn-nc.org

Council Members

 
J. Wesley Sills
Ward 1
PO Box 1065
Dunn, NC 28335
9108921564
jwsills@dunn-nc.org
 
April Gaulden
Ward 2
PO Box 1065
Dunn, NC 28335
9106585539
agaulden@dunn-nc.org
 
Frank McLean
Ward 3
PO Box 1065
Dunn, NC 28335
9108921185
fmclean@dunn-nc.org
 
Billy Tart
Ward 4
PO Box 1065
Dunn, NC 28335
9108929143
btart@dunn-nc.org
 
Chuck Turnage
Ward 5
PO Box 1065
Dunn, NC 28335
9196311430
cturnage@dunn-nc.org
 
Dr. David Bradham
Ward 6
PO Box 1065
PO Box 1065
Dunn, NC 28335
9108925845
dbradham@dunn-nc.org
 
 

More About Dunn

Dunn was originally called "Lucknow" and was renamed in 1873

The city of Dunn was incorporated on February 12, 1887, at which time it was a logging town and a turpentine distilling center. The name honors Bennett Dunn, who supervised the construction of the railway line between Wilson and Fayetteville.

Learn More