where community matters

City Government

The City of Dunn is governed by an elected council consisting of a mayorand six council members.

The Dunn City Council serves as the policy-making governing body of the City. The Dunn City Council has seven members who are elected to four year terms. Voters throughout the city choose the mayor. Each of the other six council members is a representative and is chosen only by voter within the district. District representatives live in the districts they represent. Dunn is divided into six wards.

The Dunn City Council meets the second Tuesday of every month at 7 p.m. at 401 E. Broad Street.

For requests such as a Proclamations, Temporary Street Closures, etc. to be considered for the Council Meeting Agenda, please email the City Clerk no less than 3 weeks prior to the regular scheduled Council meeting. 









More About Dunn

Dunn was originally called "Lucknow" and was renamed in 1873

The city of Dunn was incorporated on February 12, 1887, at which time it was a logging town and a turpentine distilling center. The name honors Bennett Dunn, who supervised the construction of the railway line between Wilson and Fayetteville.

Learn More